Skip to content

Zaha Hadid Architects

Your Starred Items

Archive Search
Your Starred Items


Zaha Hadid awarded the Arison Award by the National YoungArts Foundation

On January 11th, Frank Gehry presented Hadid with this year’s Arison Award at the YoungArts Foundation Gala in Miami. Hadid  joined Rita Moreno as recipients of this year’s awards. Established in 2001, the Arison Award is given annually to an individual (or individuals) who has had a considerable influence on the development of young American artists. Named for the late visionary, entrepreneur and philanthropist Ted Arison, who sought a comprehensive method to nurture and support young artists in America. In 1981, together with his wife, Lin, Ted Arison, founder of Carnival Cruise Lines, created the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts (NFAA) and the YoungArts program. Since then, more than 16,000 program alumni have been named and even more young people are being encouraged to explore and pursue a career in the arts.

Past recipients of the Arison Award  include Robert Redford,  Frank Gehry, Mikhail Baryshnikov and Plácido Domingo