Skip to content

Zaha Hadid Architects

Your Starred Items

Archive Search
Your Starred Items


Wangjing SOHO awarded First Prize in the 2014 Emporis Skyscraper Awards

From over 300 skyscrapers completed around the world in 2014, Wangjing SOHO has been voted 1st place in this year’s top 10 ranking of the Emporis Skyscraper Award.

Voted by an international panel of experts from more than 300 skyscrapers, the three-tower 200-meter-tall development is the first skyscraper in China to ever win the award. The judges were impressed by its "excellent energy efficiency and its distinctive design, which gives the complex a harmonious and organic momentum."

Now into its fifteenth year, The Emporis Skyscraper Award is among the most renowned architecture prizes for skyscrapers and its jury is formed of architecture experts from all over the world, judging the nominated buildings according to aesthetic and functional design criteria. Previous winners include The Shard in London (2013), Absolute World Towers in Mississauga (2012) and New York by Gehry at 8 Spruce Street in New York City (2011).

The Emporis Skyscraper Award website: